Posted by: history591twenty3 | June 12, 2007

Deerfield, Day 3

Deerfield Dr. Sweeney    

      Dr. Kevin Sweeney gave a lecture on the Deerfield raid.  The lecture was very informative about the aspects of the raid and the hostages taken and what happened to some of the hostages.  The tour of the Wells-Thorn House was great.  I especially found the powder horns fascinating.  I lecture about the different aspects of the rifle of the time period. I teach mostly male and some female students and they find this interesting and ask many questions.  Maybe the reason they find this interesting is most of them had been caught with guns in their possessions.  By the time I finish this section, the students know about the flint gun and how to load cannons.  In fact, the students can tell the different types of cannon of this time period.   Now, I can show my students actual pictures and tell them of my experiences.

    

powderhorn

     The Memorial Hall Museum held many remarkable artifacts.  The doll collection was amazing.  I could image young girls playing with these

dolls.  Seeing the oldest doll found in the U.S. was well worth the trip to this museum.  The female residence, will find this part interesting.  Most of them had dolls while growing up and we can discuss how dolls have changed through time.

 

 

Memorial Hall Museum

 

 

 

 

 

  

Responses

  1. I agree with what you are saying. The museum was incredible that it has the U.S. largest collection of powder horns.

    Delphine

  2. Great Pictures Dolores. I’m a little jealous because I haven’t figured out how to do this, but your site and comments are great.

  3. Hey,
    These were such great pictures and blogs! Why no more? I know several other people who were really impressed with your blogs and would like to see more!

    Have a good rest of the trip!
    John H.


Leave a Reply

Categories

