Posted by: history591twenty3 | June 16, 2007

Day 12-Lowell Textile Mills

SP 

 

     The Lowell Textile Mill was the best last activity of the trip.  The idea of women coming to a big city and getting a job and working twelve to fourteen hour days remarkable.  I have worked a twelve hour day and found the next day hard to get motivated and work.  I can not image the amount of time the women would spend working.  After being in the mill with only six machine working, most of the women must have gone deaf.  The noise level was loud!!  The Park Ranger kept stressing the woman was able to tolerate this condition because coming from a farm they would work longer hours and meet other people.  I kept thinking about the working conditions and lack of benefits they had to endure. 

get very concern when I had to pay more for my health insurance.  I learned I have it better than women from this time period. 

    

tROLL                locks

     I enjoyed going on the Trolley and learning more about it.  The boat tour was great.   I teach about the locks on the St. Lawrence and the Panama Canal.  I have not seen a real lock until today.  Now, it makes more sense, therefore I can explain the process thoroughly.  I found the use of waterpower to be interesting and watching it actually working was a learning experience. 

     The hands on is my favorite part of the day.  I especially enjoyed the weaving.  I was in the process of getting a pattern before we switched.  I probable would have done well with weaving.  I would like to learn more about this process and possible teach this to my students.

Leave a Reply

Categories

