Posted by: history591twenty3 | June 18, 2008

Gettysburg June 13, 2008

The highlight of the day was to listen to Gabor Boritt.  I found the man fascinating.  I loved sitting next to the pond, under a tree and listening to Mr. Boritt.  I felt like I was taken back in time.  He is such a knowledgeable man.  Mr. Boritt should write about his life.  He has survived many difficult experiences but he came out the winner.  He is such a great storyteller.

     Mr. Boritt wanted his book to be short and get to the point (only two hundred pages and another hundred pages of references), which he accomplished.  Mr. Boritt book was insightful of the situation Mr. Lincoln’s life as president when Mr. Lincoln gave the Gettysburg Address.  I did not realize the situation of the event.  An example is the lack of sleeping space.  This reminded me of the visits to my grandmother and all my relatives also visiting, and sleeping in the bed with many cousins.  I would not like to relive those moments.  I can sympathies with situation trying to find a place to sleep.  The information Mr. Boritt gave use, I will use in my lecture about the Gettysburg Address.  The human factor seems to hook the students because they learn Mr. Lincoln was great but also had faults.    

      The next stop was Gettysburg.  I had looked forward to this event.  I have friends who were extras in the filming of Gettysburg.  They showed me pictures of Gettysburg and of course all the actors.  I wish I could have been there.  I did not realize the detail of the battle.  I could not believe seven million bullets were fired; ten thousand people lost their lives in this battle.  Some of the monuments were grand while others were simple.  I now realize why this battle had the largest number of casualties and why this would be a turning point in the war from the guide.   

     I will use the information I learned, use in my lecture asking the following questions, and discuss the answers:

 If you were at the battle, would you stay and fight or would you flee?  Where would you go?  Why?

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

